addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrosseditemptyheartfacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

San Francisco LGBTQ Salsa Dancing Message Board › the history and the future of this group: Help me Help YOU!

the history and the future of this group: Help me Help YOU! :) It's time to speak up, and step up.

Alexandria
user 4767366
Group Organizer
Oakland, CA
Hi everyone! I know many of you are new here, or have never come to a meetup, so let me introduce myself - I'm Alexandria. I run this group. I am a dance teacher (among other things).

I started this group because I was going out salsa dancing in SF, to the salsa nights at clubs and bars, and there was ZERO queer presence. And I got tired of it. I wanted there to be more of my community in the salsa scene. And I asked my friends to come with me, and they said they didn't know how. So I tried to find them some queer salsa classes to go to, and there were basically none. I thought that was loco! So I looked on meetup, and I found this group and joined. I saw that they had no classes, no teacher. Very shortly after I joined the leader quit. I decided to give this crazy idea of mine a chance: I volunteered to be the leader, pay the fees, and keep the group open.