A former member
Post #: 1
Hi, I am new to Bicycling, I am asking if somebody can guide me in what kind a bike I need to buy and not a to expensive bike new or used. Thanks
Patty
user 52811502
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Post #: 1
Hi, I have a medium size specialized sirrus pro road bike , Great condition $495.00.
Chris
user 2618416
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Post #: 16
Hi, I am new to Bicycling, I am asking if somebody can guide me in what kind a bike I need to buy and not a to expensive bike new or used. Thanks

What kind of bike to buy depends mostly on what kind of riding you're planning to do (off-road, road, casual neighborhood riding, commuting, grocery shopping, etc.) The key thing is that you get a bike that fits you properly, and a good bike shop can help you find the right size bike.

If you're buying a used bike, you'll need to do your homework in advance, and pay attention to what your body tells you while taking a test ride.

If you have cyclist friends who will let you try their bikes, you can learn a lot about proper fit by riding different bikes.
Matt
user 3156287
Hartford, CT
Post #: 47
Further to the fine points made by Chris, the final decision to buy should be based on comfort. A comfortable bike is a bike you'll ride. Also, regardless of your budget, buy frame, not bells and whistles. Its a common mistake these days to think you have to buy carbon fiber or other than steel. Steel is still a fine and forgiving material that will last for years and provide a comfortable and useful foundation for your to grow further in cycling.