The site of Olympia was home to Lushootseed-speaking peoples for thousands of years, including Squaxin, Nisqually, Puyallup, Chehalis, Suquamish, and Duwamish. The first recorded visit by Europeans was in 1792 when Peter Puget and a crew from the British Vancouver Expedition charted the site. In the 1840s, Edmund Sylvester and Levi Smith jointly claimed the land that now comprises downtown Olympia. In 1853 the town settled on the name Olympia, at the suggestion of local resident Colonel Isaac N. Ebey due to its view of the Olympic Mountains to the northwest. Walk around Capitol Lake, through State Capitol grounds, downtown Olympia and Olympia's waterfront in what walking advocate, Sue Parks calls the "most stunning setting" of all the US capitol cities.
Dogs are welcome on leash with cleanup.
This is volkssport year-round Y653. Many of us will eat lunch afterwards.