Sydney Mobile Development Meetup Group Message Board › Looking for ideas and suggestions for the group!

Looking for ideas and suggestions for the group!

A former member
Hello all,

We had our first meeting last week although it was a rather slight affair! But still, with the two others that turned up, we had a good old chat and shared some great ideas for what we should be doing with the group.

I'm looking for more suggestions and ideas of what you would like to get involved with, what days and times work best for you and how you'd like to get involved.

On the inaugural meetup, the idea of a hack night was suggested and I'm very keen to organise this sometime. I'd also like to arrange a meeting where a few people can present what they're working on in mobile development or an area of mobile development they're interested in and would like to share with the rest of us.

While I've had little experience of public speaking and presenting, I'd be quite happy to talk about my involvement in mobile development, coming from a web development background and so if we can get a few others then that might make an interesting evening!

Anyway - I'd definitely welcome any discussion or suggestions on where to go with the group. We have 44 members as of this evening and I'd like to think that would be enough for an irregular meetup!

Email me or open a thread on the discussion forum with your ideas!

Cheers!

Simon V.
user 14498132
Sydney, AU
Post #: 2
It would probably be a good idea to start a couple of polls to get an idea of what the other members of the group prefer when it comes to organising a meetup. We should find out what day of the week people are available. What kind of venue they prefer. A pub might not be the best venue, but that doesn't mean we can't go to a pub afterwards. biggrin And probably how often we should meet would be useful. Once we know everybody's preferences we can schedule regular meetups.