HOUSTONxSHAKERS (TEDxHouston Talks) Message Board › Project Idea: Improving Inmate Literacy

Project Idea: Improving Inmate Literacy

Autif K.
user 4371854
Berkeley, CA
Post #: 2
So, I just started this job with Lindamood-Bell. I'm basically a tutor for reading. We watched pieces of an interesting documentary about how majority of inmates have a low level of literacy. This documentary was about San Diego. But, I figured, what the hell, let's see whether this is true for Texas too.

Here is a link to some pretty interesting numbers: http://www.literacyte...­

There are a bunch of great numbers in there, but I think the simplest one was that more than 60% of all state and federal corrections inmates can barely read or write. There are so many jobs that require reading and writing. If you can't get a job, you'll do a task that doesn't require writing. Neither stealing or dealing drugs require reading or writing, so those options seem reasonable given those circumstances.

Anyway, going to correctional facilities and improving the literacy rate of inmates would both save a lot of money for the state and would definitely give them a step up in life. Check out those numbers when you get the chance. We can discuss further detail regarding this project if anyone has any interest.

Autif

A former member
Post #: 1
This is a very interesting thread; thank you for starting it! I'd definitely be interested in discussing this topic more. I'm very interested in thinking about and exploring ways to address social problems through addressing root issues such as illiteracy. You, and others, might be interested in the documentary The House I Live In, which explores the "war on drugs." It doesn't directly speak to illiteracy, but it speaks to the impact of education on crime.The House I Live In
Autif K.
user 4371854
Berkeley, CA
Post #: 4
Oh yea. I think I've seen that documentary. I remember it being extremely informative. I have another question.