April Indie New Fiction

UPDATE: The poll winner is The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh. 


Hey Booklovers!  April is our Indie fiction month & here are the choices.  Please click on the More tab of the main page, go to Polls, and vote for your choice. 
Here are the options:

The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld: A wondrous and redemptive debut novel, set in a stark world where evil and magic coincide, The Enchanted combines the empathy and lyricism of Alice Sebold with the dark, imaginative power of Stephen King.

The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh: For fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell, a dark, gripping debut novel of literary suspense about two mysterious disappearances, a generation apart, and the meaning of family-the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths we will go to protect the ones we love.

Gemini by Carol Cassella: A stranger’s life hangs in the balance. What if you had the power to decide if she lives or dies?

Please check them out on your favorite book site.  They have all been very well reviewed and each present a great discussion pathway. 

Looking forward to seeing you all soon (fingers crossed).

Melissa



Join or login to comment.

  • Alice M.

    The discussion was great, as always. The book left a lot to be desired.

    May 1

  • cindy t.

    Sorry!! Weather changed my plans, see you next time!

    April 30

  • Laurie S.

    Sorry to crap out so last minute. Life!

    April 30

  • Stefani L.

    I'm not going to be able to make Tuesday's meeting. Hope someone can go in my place.

    April 28

    • Laurie S.

      Sorry. I couldn't figure out a way to give you that info w/o it sounding snarky.

      April 28

    • Stefani L.

      Not a problem. I meant Wednesday. But thank you.

      April 30

  • Amy

    May not make it tonight due to a work deadline!! I will do my best but if not, hope to see y'all next month.

    April 30

  • Lauren W.

    I got the book the week of my finals so I haven't gotten enough of the reading done to justify driving out. I am going to finish the book though!

    April 30

  • Diane G.

    So sorry I'll have to miss the discussion of The Weight of Blood! I really enjoyed the book.

    April 29

  • Rachel B G.

    What is the book for May?

    April 28

  • Rachel B G.

    I was a little skeptical about " Weight of Blood." Once I finished the first chapter, I was hooked.

    2 · April 28

  • Rhonda

    Someone can have my place at this meetup and my book.

    April 6, 2014

    • Graham

      take me long to read it so I'll get it to you as soon as I'm done... then I can work on my typing...

      1 · April 8, 2014

    • Author Lataryn R.

      Could I borrow it next? I'm interested in reading it

      April 12, 2014

  • Amy

    The April book is The Weight of Blood, by Laura McHugh. Finished it last night and it was a pretty good read. Yes, it's worth the read and I look forward to the book club discussion at the end of the month.

    April 12, 2014

    • Author Lataryn R.

      Thank you for replying Amy I'll be sure to check it out. ♥

      April 12, 2014

  • Author Lataryn R.

    What's everyone's chosen genre? Would you step outside of your reading comfort come to try something different?

    April 12, 2014

  • Author Lataryn R.

    New to this. I see everyone talking about a book. What's the title... is it worth the read?

    April 12, 2014

  • A former member
    A former member

    Y'all, I can't read this book. For anyone else who dropped it and is looking for a good read, the Summerville Book Club is reading "The Boys in the Boat" and it's fascinating.

    April 11, 2014

  • Lauren W.

    Finally got my copy frontage library today!

    April 11, 2014

  • John

    I'm also not going to read this one. I guess Edith Wharton is a hard act to follow but after 15 pages, this book just isn't working for me.

    April 7, 2014

  • Lauren W.

    does any one have this book? I've been trying to get it from the library but it's all booked up. I have a Nook but it only lets me read the first 16 pages then it's $12. Id rather not pay for it if I don't have to.
    PS - the first 16 pages totally sucked me it!

    1 · March 28, 2014

    • Amy

      Lauren--I just got it from Amazon and if I finish quickly, I'm happy to lend it to you. I think it's a fairly easy read.

      1 · March 29, 2014

    • Lauren W.

      Oh wow Amy that would be awesome. Thanks so much

      March 29, 2014

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Create a Meetup Group and meet new people

Get started Learn more
Allison

Meetup has allowed me to meet people I wouldn't have met naturally - they're totally different than me.

Allison, started Women's Adventure Travel

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy