Science fiction and fantasy have caught the imaginations of many people; however, most of the time, the characters of these stories are underrepresented by racial, ethnic and gender minorities. For example....

How many times have you wondered where are the super heroes, video game characters, and movie and tv roles of color? 

Have you ever questioned or been questioned about cosplaying a character who is not of your race or gender? 

Do you look around at conventions and wish there were at least a few more people who look like you? 

If so,this Meetup is for you. Although we will focus on exploring fandom movies, tv shows, video games, cosplay, and conventions from a minority perspective, people of all races and ethnicities are welcome to join this group.

We're 171 Fandomistas

Membership is open to everyone

Content of this Meetup Group is only visible to members

Upcoming Meetups

  • Saturday, August 1, 2015 2:00 PM

    CoF Cookout

    21 Fandomistas attending
  • Friday, August 7, 2015 5:30 PM

    Geektastic Sewing - Group 2

    4 Fandomistas attending
  • Saturday, August 8, 2015 3:00 PM

    Cosplay America

    13 Fandomistas attending
  • Sunday, August 9, 2015 11:30 AM

    CoF Movie Outing: DRAGON BALL Z: RESURRECTION 'F'

    6 Fandomistas attending
  • Tuesday, August 11, 2015 7:00 PM

    CoF Movie Outing ($6 Tuesday): Fantastic Four (2015)

    2 Fandomistas attending
  • Saturday, August 15, 2015 9:00 AM

    Walk and Talk - Dawn (First book in the Xenogenesis Series)

    3 Fandomistas attending
  • Sunday, August 16, 2015 10:00 AM

    Oak City Comic Show

    7 Fandomistas attending
  • Friday, August 21, 2015 6:30 PM

    Adaptations Book Club Series: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sleep (Bladerunner)

    6 Fandomistas attending
  • Sunday, August 23, 2015 3:00 PM

    CoF Movie Outing: Hitman Agent 47

    7 Fandomistas attending
  • Friday, August 28, 2015 7:00 PM

    Double Feature: The Neverending Story & Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade

    15 Fandomistas attending
  • Sunday, August 30, 2015 2:00 PM

    Intro to Sewing

    5 Fandomistas attending
  • Friday, September 4, 2015 11:00 AM

    Dragon*Con

    4 Fandomistas attending
  • Saturday, September 26, 2015 5:00 PM

    MST3K: Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope

    11 Fandomistas attending
  • Wednesday, September 30, 2015 6:30 PM

    Book Signing - Gene Luen Yang

    6 Fandomistas attending
  • Sunday, October 11, 2015 7:30 PM

    The Walking Dead Season Six Premiere

    4 Fandomistas attending
  • Saturday, October 24, 2015 5:00 PM

    MST3K: Pacific Rim

    7 Fandomistas attending
  • Saturday, October 24, 2015 7:00 PM

    2015 Geek Gala: The Monster Mash

    2 Fandomistas attending
  • Friday, October 30, 2015 12:00 PM

    Walker Stalker Con in Atlanta

    1 Fandomistas attending
  • Friday, November 13, 2015 10:00 AM

    NC Comicon

    11 Fandomistas attending
  • Thursday, February 4, 2016 7:00 PM

    Star Trek Symphony: The Ultimate Voyage

    8 Fandomistas attending
 
Founded Dec 2, 2013

Help support your Meetup

Chip in

Organizers:

Donna, Correai, Robyn
Contact

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Create a Meetup Group and meet new people

Get started Learn more
Henry

I decided to start Reno Motorcycle Riders Group because I wanted to be part of a group of people who enjoyed my passion... I was excited and nervous. Our group has grown by leaps and bounds. I never thought it would be this big.

Henry, started Reno Motorcycle Riders

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy