By opening to the clear perception of things as they are, we can enjoy fresh moments of color, texture, pattern, form, rhythm, light, contrast, stillness, motion, density, and space. We will combine exercises from the books The Practice of Contemplative Photography by Andy Karr and Michael Wood and True Perception: The Path of Dharma Art by Chogyam Trungpa with opportunities for personal practice, sharing images, and group discussion.

This Meetup is for Miksang ("Good Eye") practitioners and also for meditators wishing to expand their practice through mindful photography, for photographers wishing to explore seeing through mindful practices, and for others drawn to this concept.

 

We're 195 Contemplative photographers

Membership is open to everyone

Content of this Meetup Group is only visible to members

Upcoming Meetups

  • Monday, April 20, 2015 6:45 PM

    Monthly Meetup: Basic elements of Miksang practice

    4 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Sunday, April 26, 2015 12:00 PM

    Fourth Sunday Field trip

    2 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Saturday, May 9, 2015 12:00 PM

    Second Saturday Field Trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Monday, May 18, 2015 6:45 PM

    Monthly Meetup: Basic elements of Miksang practice

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Sunday, May 24, 2015 12:00 PM

    Fourth Sunday Field trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Saturday, June 13, 2015 12:00 PM

    Second Saturday Field Trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Monday, June 15, 2015 6:45 PM

    Monthly Meetup: Basic elements of Miksang practice

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Sunday, June 28, 2015 12:00 PM

    Fourth Sunday Field trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Saturday, July 11, 2015 12:00 PM

    Second Saturday Field Trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Monday, July 20, 2015 6:45 PM

    Monthly Meetup: Basic elements of Miksang practice

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Sunday, July 26, 2015 12:00 PM

    Fourth Sunday Field trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Saturday, August 8, 2015 12:00 PM

    Second Saturday Field Trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Monday, August 17, 2015 6:45 PM

    Monthly Meetup: Basic elements of Miksang practice

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Sunday, August 23, 2015 12:00 PM

    Fourth Sunday Field trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Saturday, September 12, 2015 12:00 PM

    Second Saturday Field Trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Monday, September 21, 2015 6:45 PM

    Monthly Meetup: Basic elements of Miksang practice

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Sunday, September 27, 2015 12:00 PM

    Fourth Sunday Field trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Saturday, October 10, 2015 12:00 PM

    Second Saturday Field Trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Monday, October 19, 2015 6:45 PM

    Monthly Meetup: Basic elements of Miksang practice

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
  • Sunday, October 25, 2015 12:00 PM

    Fourth Sunday Field trip

    1 Contemplative photographers attending
 
Founded Aug 20, 2013
  • Contemplative photographers 195
  • Group reviews 8
  • Upcoming Meetups 18
  • Past Meetups 55

Help support your Meetup

Chip in

Organizers:

Sue, James Marzano
Contact

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Create your own Meetup Group

Get started Learn more
Katie

I'm surprised by the level of growth I've seen since becoming an organizer, it's given me more confidence in my abilities.

Katie, started NYC ICO

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy