addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Seven Types of Ambiguity by Elliot Perlman


Seven Types of Ambiguity is a psychological thriller and a literary adventure of breathtaking scope. Celebrated as a novelist in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Philip Roth, Elliot Perlman writes of impulse and paralysis, empty marriages, lovers, gambling, and the stock market; of adult children and their parents; of poetry and prostitution, psychiatry and the law. Comic, poetic, and full of satiric insight, Seven Types of Ambiguity is, above all, a deeply romantic novel that speaks with unforgettable force about the redemptive power of love.

The story is told in seven parts, by six different narrators, whose lives are entangled in unexpected ways. Following years of unrequited love, an out-of-work schoolteacher decides to take matters into his own hands, triggering a chain of events that neither he nor his psychiatrist could have anticipated. Brimming with emotional, intellectual, and moral dilemmas, this novel-reminiscent of the richest fiction of the nineteenth century in its labyrinthine complexity-unfolds at a rapid-fire pace to reveal the full extent to which these people have been affected by one another and by the insecure and uncertain times in which they live. Our times, now.

I have reserved a conference room in the First colony library and it seats up to 14 people comfortably. If we get a bigger response I will change the locations.

Join or login to comment.

  • Ayn

    I am reading the book, but I may not be able to come to the discussion bc of a school obligation. I will try to come though. I am 50% done and find it pretty good so far and definitely worthy of discussion:-)

    1 · January 28, 2013

    • Tammy

      I hope you make it Ayn. I think it will be a good discussion. I've already made some mental notes about the characters and how it all ended. Can't wait to see what everyone else thinks.

      January 28, 2013

    • Sabine

      Hi Ayn - I have updated the meetup. See you at the meet up :)

      February 10, 2013

  • Sabine

    Hello All,

    I have updated the Book Club meeting to Sunday, March 3rd at 3:30pm. This way all of us will get a chance to finish the book and be there. We will be meeting at the same place.

    Cheers!

    Sabine

    February 10, 2013

  • Beth

    Have to change my RSVP. We will be house hunting!!

    February 10, 2013

  • Tammy

    Due the small crowd coming so far, Sabine and I thought a corner of Starbucks might be cozier then reserving a big room at the library. If more people sign up (and I'm hoping they will) then we can look at a bigger meeting place closer to the date. We've also update the time to (hopefully) make it more convenient for others to attend.

    January 22, 2013

  • Tammy

    Loving this book so far! It's so different than most books I've read, and keep me guessing and thinking. Nothing is simple about any of these characters and I just can't decide if I feel sorry for any of them or not. So much thought provoking information about why people are the way they are.....

    January 22, 2013

  • Sabine

    Omg! This book just did the unexpected! I want to take off work to finish it.

    1 · January 8, 2013

    • Sabine

      Tammy I'm wondering what your list of questions will look like for this book :)

      January 18, 2013

    • Tammy

      I'll let you know. They might just be observations and comments more than questions. I'm in the middle of part 3. It's so interesting to get the other views from each character and how they are all intertwining together. It's almost like the 6 degrees of Kevin Bacon. :-)

      January 18, 2013

  • Tammy

    This looks like a great book. I'm definitely going to read it! Unfortunately, I have another commitment on this day so I won't be able to make the discussion. Thanks for posting and hosting :-)

    1 · January 4, 2013

  • Beth

    Psychological Thriller - sounds interesting!!

    January 4, 2013

6 went

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy