The Mountain Bike Meetup Message Board › MTB purchasing suggestions

MTB purchasing suggestions

Adan
RazorsDragon
San Antonio, TX
Post #: 875
Howdy all! I'm new to this meetup, and I'm very interested in purchasing a MTB. Sadly, I've found it very challenging finding creditable reviews for bikes and gear.... I'm looking for something to be able to tackle the Espada trail and beyond! I would like something affordable, and not something cheap just for me to out grow in a few months for something more expensive, I was told to go on to craigslist, but I feel that is a little redundant buying a used older bike with miles upon miles on it for like 1/2 the retail price. I've taking a liking to the Diamondback Overdrive V 29er, would this be a good starter bike? I was told to avoid Wal-Mart and Academies for their cheaper bikes. I've also checked out bikeworld's website and was completely floored at their prices. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, I am a teacher and I'm looking forward to spending my summer (4 more weeks!) on two wheels that doesn't have an engine in it! Thanks!
Adan
RazorsDragon
San Antonio, TX
Post #: 876
Anybody?
Daniel M.
user 9174385
San Antonio, TX
Post #: 220
Budget bike ..airborne 29er
Oscar
user 85730562
San Antonio, TX
Post #: 3
So what is your budget...?
Adan
RazorsDragon
San Antonio, TX
Post #: 877
Oscar my budget ceiling will be 400, and thank you Daniel for the Airborne recommendation their website was real informative..... I'll have all summer to ride, and I honestly think I will enjoy this sport, but as a Wal-Mart shopper that always bought disposable bikes for 60 bucks growing up I sincerely shocked on how much 'good' bikes go for! shock Thanks for the response guys I was getting a little discouraged.....
Daniel M.
user 9174385
San Antonio, TX
Post #: 221
Buy a quality bike ... Save a bit more ... And youbwill be 1000% happier... Save save save
Rick
user 29955362
San Antonio, TX
Post #: 6