addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

David Markson's Wittgenstein's Mistress

  • Apr 26, 2014 · 11:00 AM
  • This location is shown only to members

David Markson is an American postmodern writer from Albany. He pushes the boundaries of the traditional novel. In 2007 he received the American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature and in 2013 he was posthumously shortlisted for the Nobel Prize in literature.

Wittgenstein's Mistress is a highly stylized, experimental novel in the tradition of Samuel Beckett and Virginia Wolff. The novel is mainly a series of statements made in the first person; the protagonist is a woman who believes herself to be the last person on Earth.

Markson's original manuscript was rejected 55 times. When the book was finally published in 1988 it was met with high critical acclaim. David Foster Wallace described it as "pretty much the high point of experimental fiction in this country."

Join or login to comment.

  • A former member
    A former member

    Same here, Tim. I gave it another try and have made it past page 200. There's hope for me yet. Though perhaps not for the mistress. Was fun to host. Thanks to all for trekking out to BKNY and for the wonderful food and good association.

    April 29, 2014

  • Tj C.

    Thanks for hosting Brian. It was a great discussion and the food was amazing! I'm enjoying the rest of the book quite a bit more now after all the insight, and the afterword is dense and interesting indeed. I'm very excited for the next meetup. I apologize for being so quiet and reserved. Next time I'll make sure to add some commentary.

    April 28, 2014

  • A former member
    A former member

    I'll bring good old fruit salad. :)

    April 25, 2014

  • A former member
    A former member

    The book is weird. I'm making Ari's Special K (Massaged Kale & Quinoa) Salad. Oh and maybe muffins. Blueberry. We'll see.

    April 23, 2014

  • A former member
    A former member

    Bringing a black bean quinoa salad

    April 23, 2014

  • A former member
    A former member

    Robert is bringing a raw Tuscan kale artichoke brussel sprout Granny smith apple salad.

    April 23, 2014

  • A former member
    A former member

    Robert is bringing a raw Tuscan kale brussel sprout arti

    April 23, 2014

  • Rachelle

    Hey all, just a friendly reminder about our approaching book club meet-up to discuss David Markson's Wittgenstein's Mistress. A head's up that this one is a bit earlier than the other two were--11am. Plus we'll be traveling to Brian's apartment for this one. Please post what sort of dish you'll be bringing so we can assure a nice variety. I'll be making uppma, a traditional Indian coconut-based breakfast dish that seems more like something for dinner to us Americans. But, since I'm gluten-free, I'll be making it with millet.

    Can't wait to see some new faces along with the old!

    April 22, 2014

  • A former member
    A former member

    hard to say, this far out but put me down for Wittgenstein's Mistress and as it gets closer, I can confirm. Buddha would be too tight as I'm coming from a rehearsal that ends at 2:30 on the UES and will be lucky to make it to Rachelle's or wherever is chosen, for that matter.

    February 16, 2014

    • Rachelle

      Send your address so I can update the location.

      February 16, 2014

    • A former member
      A former member

      my address is 285 Prospect Place, 2D, Brooklyn, NY 11238

      March 30, 2014

  • Rachelle

    I just started reading this book today and managed to finish 50 pages while riding on the subway. I think David Markson may be one of my new favorite authors. Despite being "experimental," it is infinitely readable and incredibly enjoyable. So don't be afraid and get your copy now!

    March 30, 2014

  • A former member
    A former member

    I'd be willing to host an upcoming meet up... I'm in Prospect Hts , Brooklyn, a couple blocks from the Q/B and 2/3

    February 16, 2014

    • Rachelle

      Great--should I put you down for this one or the Buddha of Suburbia?

      February 16, 2014

  • Rachelle

    I thought I'd go ahead and pre-schedule this book since there seemed to be a lot of interest in it today. We can always change the date/time if needed. And this way you can get a copy and plan ahead!

    February 15, 2014

6 went

  • Rachelle
    Organizer,
    Event Host
  • A former member
  • A former member
  • A former member
  • A former member
  • A former member

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy