addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupsimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

emilie c.


Bend, OR
Hometown: San Francisco, CA (but originally Beeville, TX)

Member since:

November 26, 2012

Give a small bio of your outdoor experiences

I am a professional hiking and climbing guide. Have taught and led snowcamping, rock climbing, backpacking, and high altitude treks around the world. At home, I love to take it easy and just get out and enjoy the beautiful area we live in and get to know other locals.

What is the maximum altitude you can handle?

25,000 ft. Not kidding. :-)

Are you familiar with the 10 essentials and how they change with different events?

Yep, I have taught and written articles about the 10 Essentials.

What outdoor events do you prefer?

Love hiking, especially summiting peaks, whether non-technical or technical.

Is your activity pace slow, medium or fast?

Kind of depends on the hike. With a light pack on easy terrain, I can be fast. With a heavier pack on steeper terrain, I can often be one of the slower (but steady) participants.


Hello! I am a California transplant that has just relocated to Bend. I am an avid hiker, backpacker, mountaineer and looking forward to exploring the Bend area!

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy