June - Discussion of Let's Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

  • June 24, 2013 · 7:00 PM
  • Private

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir

by Jenny Lawson (Goodreads Author)For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller,Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

3.98 of 5 stars 3.98 · rating details · 35,872 ratings· 7,464 reviews

Grca_badge_winner

Join or login to comment.

  • Kristen

    Sorry ladies, I'm not going to be able to make it :( too much still to do for my event tomorrow. The madness ends this week though so I will 100% be at the next one!

    June 24, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Address please?? thanks..Gail

    June 24, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    I found the listings of upcoming books, but not sure about location. Thanks

    June 23, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Hi, I am new (new to Niagara as well) transport from Toronto. Obviously it is too late to attend tomorrow, but please tell me how I will find out about the next book to read, and the location/time?

    thanks so much

    June 23, 2013

  • Deb U.

    I am looking forward to Monday...haven't finished the book yet!!
    I am not sure where I am to go for the meeting if someone could let me know that would be great
    you can email me the address at [masked]
    Thanks

    June 22, 2013

  • Kristen

    I really really really hope I can come! I have a big work event the next morning (story of my life) so fingers crossed! If I do come... I will bring a chair!

    June 20, 2013

    • Alyson

      I hope you can come too!

      June 20, 2013

  • Terry M.

    As we have 16 interesting people I have only 13 outside chairs - could those who have them bring your sling chairs that we all use for watching our kids play their sports. Thanks so much - Terry - oh I also have a pool if anyone wants to go for a swim!

    June 19, 2013

    • Terry M.

      Thanks Joan - looking forward to meeting you - let's hope the weather is good & we can be outside

      June 20, 2013

    • Joan L

      Looking forward to meeting you as well. Thanks for hosting the festivities!

      June 20, 2013

  • Amie

    I haven't had a call from the library yet and there's no way I can read it by Monday, I have three kids! :(

    June 20, 2013

    • Alyson

      Sorry to hear that you haven't gotten a copy yet. I still have quite a bit to read as well prior to Monday!

      June 20, 2013

  • Camille M. K.

    This book is hilarious, almost finished, enjoyed and so entertaining.
    I may be bringing a friend, will confirm shortly. I can bring outdoor chairs.

    June 19, 2013

    • Terry M.

      Thanks Camille - all are welcome

      June 20, 2013

  • Galina

    I am almost completing the book and look forward to meet Vivacious Readers. See you soon!

    June 18, 2013

  • Pamela

    Planning to be there...hope I can get the book read in time.

    June 18, 2013

  • Jenn J.

    Just started the book - HILARIOUS! Great Pick!

    1 · June 4, 2013

  • Amie

    As long as a copy gets to the library in time (I'm first on the waiting list), I'll be there :)

    June 4, 2013

  • Joan L

    Looking forward to the next book and a great discussion. I had a lovely evening and enjoyed meeting all of you ladies. Michele was a perfect host, great food, drinks and chat. I say we do it again!

    May 28, 2013

  • SUSAN B.

    Just got a message from the library that this book is in for pick up. YEAHHHH

    May 28, 2013

14 went

Your organizer's refund policy for June - Discussion of Let's Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

Refunds are not offered for this Meetup.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Create a Meetup Group and meet new people

Get started Learn more
Allison

Meetup has allowed me to meet people I wouldn't have met naturally - they're totally different than me.

Allison, started Women's Adventure Travel

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy