addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrosseditemptyheartexportfacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Sharon S.

Event Organizer


Asheville, NC

Member since:

March 28, 2012

What does your ideal community look like in it's physical form?

Because I love the place I already live, I tend to think mostly about ways to share it. Other community designs might be just as good, but I am already here. We have 7 acres, two houses, a stream, large garden and woods. Yet we are only 3 miles from the Asheville Mall. We have room for another person in our house, and are looking to build a greenhouse with apartment attached. The log house on our property is already rented to excellent tenants.

What are the values you would like to have in common with others?

mutual support, caring, kindness, inspiration. Optionally, interest in practicing Tai Chi or similar arts together, hiking, watching movies, gardening.

What motivates you to want this experience?

I want to assist other women in this endeavor, make new friends, and enrich our lives by liviing in community with others.

What do you have to contribute to the community?

Organizational skills, a great property and house, and a connection to women exploring the same issues in Panama City, Panama.

Profile of you. Tell us about you. What would you like us to know about you?

Retired Family Physician and addictionist, married to a retired Marine. We're 62 and 63 - still young enough to be active in many things. I still work a few hours a month as a Medical Examiner. I'm interested in hiking, reading, movies, gardening, stock and option trading and Tai Chi. My husband is a golfer, and is a great partner in maintaining a welcoming home. We have two daughters and one grandson. We travel to Vermont and England to see them as often as we can.


I've lived in Buncombe County since 1982. Very interested in exploring and learning more about local shared living and community for women and for men.

What Sharon S. is saying about this Meetup Group

great, really coming together

Member of 2 other Meetups


  • This member chose not to make their interests public.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy