Melinda P.

Location:

Asheville, NC

Member since:

November 13, 2012

What does your ideal community look like in it's physical form?

3 - 4 women sharing the common areas i.e. kitchen, great room while having a personal/private living space attached/ close to the city if not within it.

What are the values you would like to have in common with others?

Sincerity, kindness, honesty, humor, mutual respect, integrity, generosity, nonjudgmental,open minded

What motivates you to want this experience?

Have lived alone for over 2 yrs since my children left for college and realized that there are too many single women like me living alone in houses with too much empty unused space, struggling financially, and spiritually and aging without a support system. I want to have a comfortable quality of life in this 'second half' and know it is not possible or feasible living alone.

What do you have to contribute to the community?

A willingness to give all that I can, wisdom and calm, optimism and laughter, strength and tireless effort. Professionally I've been a Landscape Architect for 30 yrs, was married to an Architect/Artist for a long while, so I can contribute a lot of design and construction knowledge for both interior and exterior space. I have a passion for plants and know my stuff pretty well, spent yrs running construction crews and can build almost anything. I'm also a mosaic artist and make a wide variety of mostly outdoor pieces like fountains, planters, and tables.

Profile of you. Tell us about you. What would you like us to know about you?

Spent the last few years trying to figure things out esp when my second child left for college. Seemed the world had changed and I didn't quite have a place in it anymore. Being a creative person has kept me sane. Hoping for a new start for the second half of life in Asheville. Waited a long time for this move and now that it is suddenly here, it is pretty frightening given that I don't really know anyone or have a place to live. But I am determined anyway and hoping this community of women will be the difference in my finding a place in the world again. In the meantime, I am packing up 30 yrs of my life and discarding as much as I can bare, clueless as to how I manage this. Briefly, I am very easy going but also quite passionate, equally social and private, very spiritual but not religious, energetic but not all the time, tend to see the humor or the silver lining in even the worst of things, and will give you the shirt off my back if you need it.

Introduction

In the process of selling, packing and panicking to relocate from Atlanta mid Dec. I'm53, a Landscape Arch., mosaic artist and emptynester. Looking for a place to live even if temp until I can find my way, hoping to find new friends and a new life.


Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy