Steve

Location:

Fairfax, VA

Member since:

December 15, 2011

Networks

Please describe the dog(s) you own: name, breed, age, sex, etc... so we can get to know a little more about our new pack member(s)!

Gunther is a pure mutt. I think he's a Weimar-dor, 1/2 Lab, 1/2 Weimaraner. But that's a guess. He's a rescue so I don't know exactly how old he is. Somewhere around 5 1/2. Perry is also a rescue. Some friends found him stray in New Jersey and brought him home. Eventaully, made it to me. He's a Cocker Spaniel or Cocker-mix. Probably around 2 1/2.

What are you looking for in a trail club? Describe what you hope to get out of the group and what can you contribute to the group.

Gunther, Perry and I hike solo a lot, 3 to 5 miles a day during the week. 6 to 8 miles on weekends. I've also started backpacking with my son's Boy Scout Troop. It seems natural to combine the two. I'd like to do some over nights, learn more about the sport and meet other people and their dogs.

What does your ideal day outdoors involve? Please give the name and location of your favorite local hike or walk and describe the trail for us. Is it rocky, is there much elevation change, does it involve water, etc...

We mostly hike the parks and neighborhoods around Eakin Park in Fairfax. Wooded trails, mostly flat.

Have you and your dog(s) earned any titles or are you working towards any titles? Agility, Canine Good Citizen (CGC), working dog, pack dog, water dog, therapy dog, etc... ???

Best Dogs in the Whole Room.

Introduction

I'm a Northern VA dog lover who likes hiking and is getting into backpacking and camping.

What Steve is saying about this Meetup Group

Excellent.


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy