addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Gretchen

Location:

Arlington, VA
Hometown: Arlington

Member since:

December 29, 2012

Please describe the dog(s) you own: name, breed, age, sex, etc... so we can get to know a little more about our new pack member(s)!

Samson is a Giant Schauzer, German Wirehaired Pointer Mix....or so they say. He's 2 years old, male, and 50lbs. I take him running with other groups, and he does fine on leash with large crowds and other dogs around.

What are you looking for in a trail club? Describe what you hope to get out of the group and what can you contribute to the group.

I like hiking with my dog, but I usually go alone. I'd prefer to have other people around just in case I fall off a rock. I'd also like to explore some new trails, but because I'm not a very experienced hiker, I don't necessarily want to go alone. I'm not sure what I can contribute or what's called for, but I'm happy to help organize a hike every now and then.

What does your ideal day outdoors involve? Please give the name and location of your favorite local hike or walk and describe the trail for us. Is it rocky, is there much elevation change, does it involve water, etc...

I like to go early, as soon as the sun is up. I usually go to Turkey Run because it's close to me, and I know it well. The trail is pretty flat and crosses a few streams. There is some elevation change, but not much. I'm usually done by lunch time, at which point I return home and nap with Samson. During the week, I mainly stick to the custis trail along 66 in Arlington. Most of those walks are paved.

Have you and your dog(s) earned any titles or are you working towards any titles? Agility, Canine Good Citizen (CGC), working dog, pack dog, water dog, therapy dog, etc... ???

We will start working towards CGC in Jan.

Introduction

My name is Gretchen, and my dog is Samson. I've lived in Arlington for about 5 years (Texas Native), and work for local government. I'm interested in exploring new parks with my dog.


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy