addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupsimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonStartprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

Meetup details changed: NYC ATHEISTS APRIL MONTHLY MEETING

From: Jane E.
Sent on: Tuesday, April 23, 2013 3:42 AM

I've updated this Meetup. For more details, see the full listing:
http://www.meetup.com/atheists-24/events/109725712/

When: Thursday, April 25,[masked]:30 PM

Where: SLC CONFERENCE CENTER
15 WEST 39TH STREET - 3RD FLOOR
New York, NY 10018

This Meetup repeats on the last Thursday of every month.

If the changes affect your plans to attend, please take a moment to update your RSVP. (You can RSVP "No" or "Yes".)

You can always get in touch with me through my group profile on Meetup.

 


Professor Who Warned of Link Between Christians and Republicans to Speak at NYCA

NYC Atheists Inc. prides itself, tongue in cheek, on being a “non-prophet organization”--but who knew that we do indeed have our prophets?

Count Dr. Steven Jonas as one of those. Dr. Jonas, a physician and professor of Preventive Medicine at the School of Medicine in Stony Brook University, wrote a book in 1996 that examined what would happen if the Republican party used the Religious Right to promote their programs. He predicted it would be the gradual road to theocratic fascism, American style.

Well, guess what.  What Dr. Jonas foresaw is already happening in the good old U.S.A. today.

Just recently, Dr. Jonas and his publisher realized that what the good professor predicted would happen if the lethal combination of religion and Republicanism came gained power and strength, is actually happening now The recent attempt of the state of North Carolina to insist that it was exempt from the U.S. Constitution and could establish its own religion is just one example.

An Idea Whose Time Has Come

The author and his publisher quickly decided to re-issue Dr. Jonas’s book, “The 15% Solution: How the Republican Christian Right Took Control of the U.S.,[masked], A Futuristic Novel,” which both decided had been ahead of its time.

We are lucky indeed to have Dr. Jonas as our guest speaker on Thursday, April 25th. “My book was a warning about what might happen in the U.S. as a result of the alliance between the Christian right and the Republican party,” the professor notes. “Now, it is a warning about what IS happening.”

Dr. Jonas, whose education includes Harvard Medical School and a Master of Public Health from Yale, says that in writing the book, he wanted to show how a theocratic authoritarianism can be gradually introduced into any country, even the U.S., behind a facade of Constitutional legality. His book follows in the tradition of Jack London’s “The Iron Heel” and Sinclair Lewis’s “It Can’t Happen Here,” he notes.

Eager for Questions

Come on Thursday evening to hear the physician/author as part of the distinguished speakers program NYCA presents to keep our fellow Atheists on the cutting edge of the fight for separation of church and state.

Come, ask questions, learn. Dr. Jonas says he will have only a few copies of his book available on Thursday for signing but copies will be available on Amazon.com and in Barnes & Noble. This personable educator is friendly, down to earth and willing to answer any and all of our questions.

EVENT SUMMARY

WHAT:   “The 15% Solution: How the Republican

Christian Right Took Control of the

U.S.,[masked], A Futuristic Novel,”

a talk, with Q and A, by author

Dr. Steven Jonas.

 

WHEN:    Thursday, April 25th, at 6:30 p.m.

 

WHERE:    The SLC Conference Center

19 West 39th St (just off Fifth Ave)

3rd Floor

 

COST:     We suggest a voluntary donation of $10;

students and unemployed exempt.


Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy