BigScreen LittleScreen - Los Angeles Message Board › The Best in Web Series Awards: IAWTV Awards

The Best in Web Series Awards: IAWTV Awards

paul k.
user 4120822
New York, NY
Recognizing content creators driving today’s expansive Web Television industry, the International Academy of Web Television (IAWTV) has opened submissions for the 2nd Annual IAWTV Awards to be presented on Tuesday, January 8, 2013, in Las Vegas during the 2013 International Consumer Electronics Show (CES).

Submissions for the 2nd Annual IAWTV Awards must be received by 11:59 p.m. PST on September 19, 2012. For more information, visit

The 2013 IAWTV Awards consists of 34 categories honoring Web series and talent, both in front of the camera and behind-the-scenes.  This year, three new Awards categories have been added, including Best Live Event, Best Ensemble Cast, and Best Online Channel. A full list of Awards categories can be found­.

Submissions for the IAWTV Awards are open to qualifying individual producers, production teams and companies, major studios and networks, independent talent, YouTube stars and mainstream talent. Last year’s winners include Felicia Day/The GuildKids React by The Fine Brothers, and What’s Trending with Shira Lazar, among many other notable industry professionals.

The live Awards show will be accompanied by an online broadcast of the ceremony.  More than 50,000 web television professionals are expected to watch the 2013 online show, which is double the number who watched last year’s show.

In conjunction with the 2013 IAWTV Awards show on January 8, 2013, the organization is producing an educational series as part of the CES “Entertainment Matters” program, on January 9, 2013. This full day of programming will provide insight and education from leading digital content creators, marketers, and technology providers who are shaping the digital entertainment industry.

“The IAWTV is proud to produce our second awards show for content creators by content creators, honoring the talented community behind the booming online video screens,” says Paul Kontonis, Chairman of the Board of Directors for IAWTV. Amber J. Lawson, Chair of IAWTV’s Awards Committee, adds, “As we open up submissions for our 2nd awards, we expect to see a greater number than last year’s 350-plus web series entries from digital entertainment industry professionals and organizations, including independent content creators, distribution platforms, and major studios.”

Qualifications for IAWTV Awards eligibility include:

  • Only episodes of a Web series as defined by the IAWTV that were released during the period of November 1, 2011 through September 19, 2012 are permitted to be entered for consideration in the 2013 IAWTV Awards and only so long as at least two (2) or more episodes of the Web series were released within the eligibility period.
  • The IAWTV defines a Web series as a series of two (2) or more episodes held together by the same title, trade name or mark, or identifying personality common to all the episodes that initially aired and were distributed anywhere in the world via the Internet using website technology (e.g., .com, .net, .biz, etc.).  Exclusions from this are works such as previews, trailers, sizzle reels, commercials, demo reels, any sequences from feature-length films for theatrical distribution or home video release, aired and unaired episodes of established TV series delivered on free network broadcast television, pay television and all forms of cable television, and any unsold traditional TV series pilots.
  • Both members and non-members of the IAWTV are welcome to submit their shows for consideration.
  • All submissions and entry fees must be received by 11:59pm PST on September 19, 2012. All submissions must be received via the IAWTV’s online entry system at­ from the owner or authorized representative of the Web series.

Active members of the IAWTV will vote on IAWTV Awards, and nominees will be announced mid-November 2012, following preliminary voting.  To become a member visit

About the IAWTV Awards

The International Academy of Web Television Awards (IAWTV Awards) is an official Web television industry awards and celebration established for content creators, by content creators. The awards serve as a platform for members of the IAWTV to honor the best of their profession, foster collaboration with peers and industry luminaries and to support the IAWTV. Proceeds raised from the show are used by the IAWTV for the betterment of the community by providing more member resources as well as professional development and education for professionals working in Web television.


About The International Academy of Web Television

The International Academy of Web Television (IAWTV) is a nonprofit organization comprised of leaders in the field of Web television, Web video and the digital entertainment industries. Founded in 2009, the IAWTV is helping to shape the rapidly evolving Web television industry while providing a venue for the acknowledgement of artistic and technological achievement in original entertainment distributed on the open Internet.  IAWTV members include actors, agents, composers, content developers, directors, editors, producers, technology innovators, writers, and other industry professionals all of whom joined the organization based on their passion and dedication to advance the craft of Web television. For more information, please visit or follow us on twitter @iawtv.

Powered by mvnForum

Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy