user 9349172
Depew, NY
Post #: 101
I'm in for second slot Gonzaga.
Paul
user 9349172
Depew, NY
Post #: 102
Hi guys. Newbie here. I was hoping to show up Wed, but here's my hitch. I have a meeting upstairs from 7:30-8:30, so I'll either need to start at 8:30, or (preferably) play a shorter game before hand, and then rejoin later. So since I'm unfamiliar with the whole process, maybe you can help me out:

1) Should I pursue the 6:30 or 8:30 option? It looks like Dragon Rampage might be the first game, in which case I couldn't play since it's likely to last more than an hour.

Hi Jeff, and welcome. It would it's best to aim for a 8:30ish game.

2) How flexible is the agenda, or is it set in stone here? I have a variety of <1 hr games we could try, if possible.

Once people are signed up for a game we almost always stick to the schedule. The schedule usually only changes when players or the person running the game have to drop out for the night.

3) What time does this typically go to, and what is normal attendance?

10-11, but sometimes later, sometimes earlier.

4) I see someone mentioning "after descent", but I don't see that game being played yet. Am I missing something?

This is an anomaly. I'm running a Descent 2e campaign with the same players every other week at UB. We don't post it in the listing because the players only change when someone can't make Descent that week.

5) What's my expected knowledge of games when I sit down? Should I be reading rules ahead of time?

As a player, none. The person running the game teaches anyone who hasn't played it. We have a LOT of dedicated gamers who do read the rules before playing a game, even ones they aren't running. This is a wonderful part of our group and this helps but isn't expected. The runner is expected to know the rules well enough to teach and adjudicate the game.

Hope that helps.
Jenna
user 2324423
Grand Island, NY
Post #: 1,165