Scottsdale Book Club Meetup Group Message Board › NEWSLETTER for May 8, 2012

NEWSLETTER for May 8, 2012

stephany
AZStephany
Group Organizer
Scottsdale, AZ
Post #: 537
It's back at least for now. The newsletter, of course. I was about to start writing my paranormal romance (I have to make a living somehow) but got diverted from the comments on the ratings for our last event, the discussion of "Cannery Row."

We had near record numbers, 17 people showed up! The previous record remains unbroken at 24 for one discussion. So yeah, pretty crowded. As with any fairly large group of individuals, we had diversity. The discussion in our alcove of Barnes and Noble was many things: exhilarating, illuminating, interesting, stressful, head banging against wall kind of fun, you know?

Now that I'm a teacher, I feel more confident about managing groups. Or at least I did. This is the second time someone came to a meeting and didn't know who the facilitator was! Yes. I will wear NUMERO UNO and a big sombrero for the next meetup. There will be no mistaking me for some random talker. AND I will install the following rules:

1) No shushing. Anyone. Ever. Kicking someone under the table is completely acceptable.

2) No expecting me to remember you from a puppet show. You know who you are.

3) No referring to a person as saying they talk too much and its all about them, and then complaining they do not know who is running the meeting. Geez.

4) No discussion about start-up companies. That discussion should be saved for the "Scottsdale Meetup BookGroup and Casual Discussion about Start-up Companies" group. I hear they are still in the process of getting the group going. Har Har.

5) No being so articulate that you sound like you wrote a literary treatise on the subject being discussed. It's intimidating and confuses everyone as to who the facilitator actually is.