April Main Meetup

Thanks to all those who came to March's Meetup. As usual, lively discussions were had and even though Pride and Prejudice may well be the most popular Book Group read ever (check out its score on the discussion page), even it wasn't universally acclaimed...

Anyway, on to April. First thing to note is a change in date. The first Monday of the month is Easter Monday so we're going for the second Monday instead.

The second point to note is the book choices...

The Angel Maker by Stefan Brijs (nominated by Julia)

A literary page-turner about one man's macabre ambition to create life-and secure immortality

The village of Wolfheim is a quiet little place until the geneticist Dr. Victor Hoppe returns after an absence of nearly twenty years. The doctor brings with him his infant children-three identical boys all sharing a disturbing disfigurement. He keeps them hidden away until Charlotte, the woman who is hired to care for them, begins to suspect that the triplets-and the good doctor- aren't quite what they seem. As the villagers become increasingly suspicious, the story of Dr. Hoppe's past begins to unfold, and the shocking secrets that he has been keeping are revealed. A chilling story that explores the ethical limits of science and religion, The Angel Maker is a haunting tale in the tradition of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Frankenstein. Brought to life by internationally bestselling author Stefan Brijs, this eerie tale promises to get under readers' skin.

Dominion by C J Sansom (nominated by Steve P)

1952. Twelve years have passed since Churchill lost to the appeasers, and Britain surrendered to Nazi Germany after Dunkirk. As the long German war against Russia rages on in the east, the British people find themselves under dark authoritarian rule: the press, radio and television are controlled; the streets patrolled by violent auxiliary police and British Jews face ever greater constraints. There are terrible rumours too about what is happening in the basement of the German Embassy at Senate House. Defiance, though, is growing. In Britain, Winston Churchill's Resistance organisation is increasingly a thorn in the government's side. And in a Birmingham mental hospital an incarcerated scientist, Frank Muncaster, may hold a secret that could change the balance of the world struggle forever. Civil Servant David Fitzgerald, secretly acting as a spy for the Resistance, is given by them the mission to rescue his old friend Frank and get him out of the country. Before long he, together with a disparate group of Resistance activists, will find themselves fugitives in the midst of London’s Great Smog; as David’s wife Sarah finds herself drawn into a world more terrifying than she ever could have imagined. And hard on their heels is Gestapo Sturmbannfuhrer Gunther Hoth, brilliant, implacable hunter of men . . .

Unfortunately I can't join you in April, gadding about on holiday, but I'm definitely taking these two books with me, and look forward to hearing about all your thoughts.

Eleanor

Join or login to comment.

  • Peterburton

    Apologies for no show . Got phone call from police to say
    my father had died suddenly a couple of weeks ago. It was unexpected. He was the carer of my brother who has Special leaqrning difficulties- so i have had to organise a funeral, care for my brother and a change of address simultaneously over the last two weeks with neither my smart phone or my PC or my Dad's PC working. I must have done something really bad in a fromer life...Hope to come back when everything had settled down, Pete

    April 17, 2013

    • Mhairi

      so sorry to hear your sad news Peter

      April 17, 2013

    • Sue H

      Hi Peter, that's very sad and sounds like a pretty tough time for you. Hope you're getting through it okay. Sue.

      April 19, 2013

  • christine l.

    sorry just got round to reading my emails . rather to many at times to get through when you dont have your own computer. hopefully will c u all in may

    April 16, 2013

  • Michelle M.

    I am reall, really sorry his is such a last minute drop out but I'm stuck in a meeting at work and won't get out in time for the meet up. I'm just filling for someone else but going to be here for a while yet. So sorry to waste a spot

    April 8, 2013

  • Susan

    Sorry folks, I was on waiting list but a space opened up too late in the day for me to attend. Just leaving work in West Lothian :-(

    April 8, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Really sorry for the late change - another migraine

    April 8, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    SORRY BUT COULDN'T REARRANGE OTHER APPOINTMENT. HOPE STILL TIME FOR SOMEONE ELSE TO GET PLACE. Jennie

    April 8, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Sorry, can't manage this month.

    April 6, 2013

  • DL G.

    Have to go to a training course for work :-(
    Loving both books this month :-)

    April 4, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Sorry, I am unable to attend April meeting.

    April 1, 2013

  • Ruth M.

    Susan, Jane. Feel free to read them both, or just one, or neither if you don't have time!

    1 · April 1, 2013

  • Susan

    My first meeting too! Do I read both or pick 1 :-)

    March 31, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    This will be my first meeting. Do I read both books?

    1 · March 11, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    What is name of book?

    March 7, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    due to ester holiday and already booked our flights i can't make it, but looking forward to the next upcoming meeting x

    March 7, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    Looking forward to it

    March 6, 2013

  • A former member
    A former member

    This will be by first meeting

    1 · March 6, 2013

24 went

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sometimes the best Meetup Group is the one you start

Get started Learn more
Rafaël

We just grab a coffee and speak French. Some people have been coming every week for months... it creates a kind of warmth to the group.

Rafaël, started French Conversation Group

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy