Rock and Ice Climbing Boston Message Board › General FAQ

General FAQ

A former member
Post #: 10
Hey everyone!

We've been getting a few messages lately on the "how to's of rock climbing" and things of that nature. So we're going to make this thread a sticky in hopes to alleviate some of common questions. If you have any specific things you'd like to ask regarding general how-to please post them in this thread.

I'll kick some off below!

- Nico
Associate Organizer
A former member
Post #: 11
Do I have to be a good/expert climber to be a part of the MeetUp?

A: Heck no! As a matter of fact I'm terrible but somehow Geoff lets me hang around! Ok ok, I've been climbing for about 3 years and I've picked up a few things, but am certainly no expert. I think the other organizers are along comparable skill levels as well. But truthfully you do not need to really have a clue what a rock even is to join this meetup. All we're really looking for are people who want to have fun being active.

Is there T access to Metro (Everett) or Boston Rock Gym (Woburn)

Metro: YES! Take the Orange line to Wellington and you're almost there! Metro has a shuttle service from Wellington to the gym and its free. Hooray free! More details can be found HERE

BRG: Ehhhh kind of. If you take the Lowell line commuter rail to the Woburn/Anderson Station you're about 2 miles away. They don't have a shuttle from here but you can get a cab or possibly arrange a carpool etc. (just a general note, we historically have climbed mostly at Metro) click HERE for more info on BRG

What do all those crazy numbers on the routes mean? What is a route?
A route is just what it sounds like. Basically you will see a series of tape markers indicating which grips or "holds" you can use for your hands and feet on a route.