addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

CFI Portland Meetup Group Message Board General › Mars Hill Church setting up in Portland!

Mars Hill Church setting up in Portland!

Wes M.
Wesley-M
Portland, OR
Post #: 54
Just found this:

http://www.oregonlive...­

It seems to be setting up in the old Staub Memorial Congregational Church, where I attended when I was a Bible School student back in the late '60s.

For the life of me I can't figure out they think this is going to be successful in SE Pdx, unless of course, they hope to attract all the fundamentalist lurkers who are living under the radar in SE.

wes
Justin
JustinRose
Vancouver, WA
Post #: 73
I'll never get used to metro-sexual christians.
Wes M.
Wesley-M
Portland, OR
Post #: 55
Maybe they're going to bring Michelle Bachmann's husband in to run homosexual de-programming workshops?

Maybe they plan on running buses to rural Clackamas County in order to fill the pews? (Don't worry, I live in Clackamas Co myself).
Justin
JustinRose
Vancouver, WA
Post #: 74
I always assumed that his 'pray away the gay' camp was just his personal stable.
A former member
Post #: 306

The fundamentalists at least have some facts on their side. The bible condemns homosexual behavior pretty definitively. I don't think you can honestly interpret it another way. Of course, the literalist would be obliged to behave in a number of ways that current society would not tolerate at all.