CFI Portland Meetup Group Message Board General › Gun control

Gun control

Ron
HotMetal
Portland, OR
Post #: 37
I am seriously thinking about starting a gun control meetup group or at least organizing a gun destruction party. As a welder, I have ways of destroying guns... any ideas??? SOMETHING MUST BE DONE TO STOP THE VIOLENCE!!!
Bernie D.
BernieDehler
Hillsboro, OR
Post #: 1,449
RE: "SOMETHING MUST BE DONE TO STOP THE VIOLENCE!!!"

How about arming some of the teachers, and train and arm every school principal?
A former member
Post #: 6
I am seriously thinking about starting a gun control meetup group or at least organizing a gun destruction party. As a welder, I have ways of destroying guns... any ideas??? SOMETHING MUST BE DONE TO STOP THE VIOLENCE!!!

There are many many many people who could be put in a room with 10,000 guns and wouldn't fire one of them no matter the provocation. Mental illness is a major underlying issue here, and unfortunately I know of many mentally ill people who never got help until it became a "legal" matter. As long as they are law abiding, services are just not there for them.
If you saw the essay "I am Adam Lanza's mother" you know how horrifyingly challenging this problem is. There are lots of Adam Lanzas out there, percolating. And remember, Timothy McVeigh didn't use a gun and his body count was much higher. Kaczynski used no gun. Mohamed Atta used no gun.

Frashour, of course, used guns...

It isn't "only" mental illness, of course. It has cultural underpinnings.

No one will put the gun genie back in the bottle in the U.S. We will have more, rather than fewer, guns, year by year. Gun sales skyrocketed in Portland last week! ;-0

Ron
HotMetal
Portland, OR
Post #: 38