Code Crew - Let's Learn to Code Together! Message Board › Ahoy, Swabbies!

Ahoy, Swabbies!

Jamal
user 48157942
Group Organizer
New York, NY
Hey Everyone,

Thank you all for signing up for Code Crew! I’m really excited about getting things rolling with the group and am looking forward to meeting and learning with all of you. We have a very diverse group of members, which includes school teachers, entrepreneurs, artists, designers, seasoned software developers and even a professional ice hockey coach. I have been getting questions from you guys about the group and decided to send this note to address them.

First, to provide some background on myself, I have been coding for a little over two months now and have been teaching myself Ruby, Ruby on Rails, HTML, CSS and JavaScript. My interest lies in building web applications and I kind of hit a roadblock when trying to learn Rails and recently completed an 8-week course on Ruby on Rails. Though I learned a lot from this course and managed to build an app or two I still have a long way to go as far as learning the Rails framework inside out. Besides Rails I'm really trying to dig deeper into JavaScript and maybe some CoffeeScript. To achieve these goals it will require self-study and I decided to start Code Crew so I could meet and learn with other people that are also teaching themselves how to code.