DFW WordPress Group Message Board WordPress Q&A › travel categories on website

travel categories on website

Madelyn M.
travellady
Dallas, TX
Post #: 3
I own www.travellady.com
I am currently moving the site to wordpress.

I need categories for each state (and many cities) and each country (and many cities)
Using the categories list makes hundreds of categories.
Any suggestions of other ways to handle this? tabs?
Steven H.
user 12853258
Denton, TX
Post #: 12
I'm not an expert so I haven't hurried to chime in and I'm not sure this helps...hope so. It seems your question requires answers of two natures: How to organize that and how to make it happen.

I see that with the Agent Press Child Theme for the Genesis framework ( http://demo.studiopre...­ ), they use "custom taxonomies" to present their real estate properties in separate drop downs. I haven't looked into how they do this. A person would have to purchase this from Studio Press but then could investigate and also get help from their team of support. Perhaps something like this would work and keep your category list from growing extensively. What they accomplished has both a technical side but also a strategic side to consider...they created a scheme or a grid of custom taxonomies that organize their property listings by more than one criterion.

Be aware that the Genesis framework sets up many functions that are easy for the user but this also might keep you tied to the Genesis framework if you invest a lot of time and work into it. I use Genesis a lot and find their support to be very good.

You could try reading up on custom taxonomies at Wordpress.Org.

Matt C.
user 13749624
Arlington, TX
Post #: 7
The simple way would be to create parent categories for each country, then child categories for each state, then child categories for each city. But then when you post your authors will have to dig through hundreds of categories. And I'm not sure what kind of search and post organization functionality you need.