The American & Irish Group Message Board › Costs to keep the group on Meetup

Costs to keep the group on Meetup

Devyn
devynos
Dublin, IE
Post #: 62
Hi everyone,

I'm not sure if everyone is aware, but meetup.com charges organisers to maintain the group. It's $72 each 6 months. I've been paying it for the last 5 years, but can't really afford to do so at present. Therefore, I think we have two options:

1. Charge everyone a membership of €1 - hopefully enough people would respond to cover the fee. (And if there is a great response, we have funds to host pub nights, etc!!)
2. See if there are 12 people who will each pay for one month.

Charging for events is another possibility, but seems awkward to arrange and collect fees. And lastly, we can let the group expire, in which case it will only stay active if someone else will sign up as organiser and pay the fee.

Please let me know what you think, and I can set up to receive payments and membership fees through this site (there is also a reporting function, so I can let member know how much we have, and what we are using it for!)

Thanks,
Devyn
A former member
Post #: 12
Hey Devyn. I know from organising the German meet-up a few years ago that it costs money. I have no problem whatsoever of giving €1 or €2 to the costs. I will be there on Superbowl evening to give it you or somebody else. Cheers, Gavin.
A former member
Post #: 12
I'm also happy to chip in whats needed: Suggestions: payments via wepay or paypal if that suits or a better free idea would be to migrate this group over the the "Americans Living in Ireland" community on Google+. https://plus.google.c...­
You can organize and announce events and post privately or use chat. It would be a way to carry on this group and continue to plan meet ups. Just a thought.
Lisa
A former member
Post #: 1