align-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcamerachatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-crosscrosseditemptyheartfacebookfullheartglobegoogleimagesinstagramlocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartwitteryahoo

Rainfurrest Charity 2013

From: Sharako
Sent on: Thursday, November 22, 2012 11:24 PM



Hi Everyone,

I hope you all had an awesome 2012 con and are having fun with the holidays. I know I have been settling down after an exciting Rainfurrest. I am back again this year running charity. Whoo! I am so excited to be back and doing this again.

So where do I start with this. First off, I would like to share what we look for in a charity. Then I would like to show you what has been suggested as charities in the past, and ask for more suggestions from you our con goers. If you work for a charity, what charity is it? What charities have you heard of? What causes do you think we should help?

This is a rough outline of what we want in a charity.

The charity Must be a 501c3
We would like it to be animal related I.E. seeing eye dogs for the blind, Cougar Preservation (Rainy gives it two claws up!) Wild Life Rehabilitation, Save the animals who are lost after a natural disaster Etc...
We would like it to be within the Pacific Northwest (Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Alaska, B.C., Alberta) can be outside as well.
We would love our charity to be able to come to our convention.
The donation should make a difference for the charity.
We Do Not take any Kill Shelters. We feel all animals have the right to live.


Here are charities we have had in the past

Previous Charities

2007 Sarvey Wildlife Arlington, WA 98223 http://www.sarveywildlife.org/
2008 Washington Ferret Rescue and Shelter
2009 Critter Care Wildlife Soc. - B.C - http://www.crittercarewildlife.org/index.php
2010 Northwest Wildlife Rehabilitation Center - http://www.northwestwildlife.org/
2011 Love A Mutt - http://www.loveamutt.org/
2012 Rabbit Meadows - http:// wwww.rabbitmeadows.org

Here are our current charity suggestions list.

Human Charities

Delta Society -[masked]th Ave NE, Suite 101 • Bellevue, WA 98005 U.S.A. - http://www.deltasociety.org/Page.aspx?pid=183



Animal Charities

House Pets

11th Hour Rescue - http://www.ehrdogs.org/


Dogs

Australian Shepard Rescue - New Castle PA - http://www.aussierescue.org/
BC Siberian Husky rescue - Surrey, BC - http://www.bcsiberianhuskyclub.com/
Valhalla Dog Rescue - Graham, Washington - http://www.valhallarescue.org/home.html


Cats

Meow Cat Rescue - Kirkland, Washington - http://www.meowcatrescue.org/


Rabbit/Ferret/Rodencia/Small Animalls

Small Animal Rescue Society BC - http://smallanimalrescue.org/

Birds

Pacific Northwest Raptors - Vancouver Isl - http://www.pnwraptors.com/rescue_family ... sland.html
Sardis Raptor Center - 7472 Valley View Road Ferndale, Washington 98248 - http://www.sardisraptor.org/


Wild/Zoo Animals

Cat Tails - Spokane - http://www.cattales.org/
The Clouded Leopard Project - P.O. Box 2311 Gig Harbor, WA 98335 - http://www.cloudedleopard.org/
Wild Cat Haven - Sherwood OR = http://www.wildcathaven.org/
Felidae Conservation Fund - Building 1062 Fort Cronkhite Sausalito, CA 94965 - http://felidaefund.org/
CARE Center for Animal Research and Education - 245 County Road 3422 Bridgeport, TX 76426 - http://www.bigcatcare.org/homepage.htm
Rocky Mountain Feline Rescue - http://www.rmfr-colorado.org/index.html
Sara's Sanctuary - http://saras-sanctuary.org/
The Defenders of Wildlife http://www.defenders.org/
White Wolf Sanctuary in Tidewater, Or http://www.whitewolfsanctuary.com/index.php
Wildlife Images in Grants Pass, Or http://www.wildlifeimages.org/
Wildlife Safari in Winston, Or http://www.wildlifesafari.net/cur/default.html

Farm/Petting Animals

The Funny Farm - Monroe WA - http://www.monroefunnyfarm.com/


Other

River's Wish Animal Sanctuary in Spokane, WA - http://www.riverswishanimalsanctuary.org/

   

That being said we want to know what you all have to say!


 Thanks,

Sharako 





People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy