Each member can choose to allow or prevent other members from contacting them through on-site messages. 

If someone has chosen not to receive messages from other members, the Messages icon under their name on their site profile will be greyed out. There is no way to override this setting.

If this is not the case, it is possible that your own settings don't allow other members to contact you.

To edit your contact settings:

- Head to your Privacy page
- Choose your desired preference from the Who can contact you on the site? drop-down menu
- Hit Save to update your preferences