add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

Douglas W.


Louisville, KY

Member since:

December 19, 2010

What is your favorite thing to do in the outdoors? (keep it rated PG, your mother might read this)

Just being there. The outdoors is my home, my church, my happy place. Sportwise, I enjoy hiking, camping, backpacking, canoeing, rafting, caving, and mountaineering.

Where are you from? (if you've lived lots of places, list them)

Originally from Southern Indiana near Louisville. I've lived in Evansville, IN; Dallas, TX; Seattle, WA and Louisville.

What do you do for a living?

I'm an outdoor guide.

What is your favorite place to hike in the Cincinnati / Tri-State area?

Remote areas of Harrison Crawford State Forest in Southern Indiana. I began backpacking when I was 11 and growing up spent a lot of time in my teenage years exploring and learning there so it is a special place for me.

What is your craziest hiking memory (or "have you ever been chased by a bear")

I've never been chased by a bear but have had several encounters with them, mostly comical, along the trail in Tennessee, New Mexico, Minnesota, Wyoming, and California.


My name is Douglas and I've spent my entire life in the outdoors-camping, hiking, backpacking, canoeing, rafting, and alpine climbing primarily. I joined this group to meet other interesting and like-minded folks who enjoy the outdoors.

Member of

  • This member chose not to make their Meetup membership information public.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy