addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1linklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Windy City Hikers Meetup Group Message Board › New Hiker-Any suggestions?

New Hiker-Any suggestions?

A former member
Post #: 3
I am new to hiking and I was wondering if anyone had any words of wisdom? ;-)

Not totally new, I've taken short hikes staying on trails through a few forest preserves, but never all day hikes.
Kathleen P
whipper
Arlington Heights, IL
Post #: 1
Hi Christine,
I'm kind of in the same boat. I've taken short hikes- maybe 2 or 3 miles max. I'm kind of scared when I read about these 9 mile hikes. I don't know if I can do that. I've had scary visions of myself collapsing on the trail at about mile five ;) I'm looking forward to some advice from the experts in this club on how to prepare/train for a long hike.
A former member
Post #: 2
Hi Christine and Kathleen,

Here's my thoughts for a new hiker:

1. Get good/great to great footwear. I recommend a pair of hiking shoes and hiking boots. Sneakers just aren't going to cut it. Your feet will get wet, blister's will appear, and all kinds of injuries due to lack of support. For hiking, I usually wear a low boot always. The support will aid the ankle, and the waterproof nature will keep your feet dry, and the solid soles will help with sharp objects like rocks, roots, and the occasional human debris (nails, glass, etc.)