The Olympia Hiking and Outdoor Recreation Group Message Board › Question about participating in multi-day backpacking?

Question about participating in multi-day backpacking?

Jon E
user 6246057
Olympia, WA
Post #: 11
I recently received a question from another member on this site. I'm publishing my response so all can see the discussion.

"I'm interested in getting more info on the multiple day backpack. I'm not a novice but have not done any hiking that has required an ice axe. Can you tell me about your pace?"

Thanks for the question. I myself walk about two miles an hour which I consider to be a rather average pace. I like to joke that I only have two speeds for walking; Slow and slower! My pace may pickup a little going down and slow down a little going up but by and large I can usually estimate my time on the trail by the miles I have to cover. Most hikers also agree that you need to account for elevation gain and loss. The standard is to add a mile (or half hour of walking at my pace) for every thousand feet up or down. Using mileage and elevation together gives you a pretty good estimate of how long it will take you to reach your daily goal on the trail.

Nevertheless, my personal walking pace is not relevant or important. First, I don't require participants to match my pace. On my hikes I allow participants to hike at whatever pace suits them and we tend to spread out all over the trail. I only ask participants to hike "together" in off-trail terrain where an individual could stray and get lost. On my hikes people begin each day of hiking when they want and arrive at camp whenever they get there. For the most part, participants can hike at whatever pace suits them. Second, as Event Host, I most often hike at the tail of the group and don't set the pace. Choosing to hike at the end allows me to keep an eye on any stragglers and be available if anybody needs help during the day.