Japanese Meetup @Singapore Message Board › My thoughts of learning Japanese

My thoughts of learning Japanese

Closed to new replies

A former member
Post #: 1
Hi all,

I've been learning Japanese for 10 years, on and off. Have school hopped quite a bit; tried Bunka, JCS, Pyaess and are now studying in Ikoma.

I love Jdrama and have watched quite a lot, but always have to rely on the subtitles.

Recently, I got my N3 result back and passed with flying colours. I even got full marks for listening but I am very puzzled about the score. To be very honest, I didn't expect to do well as I could not understand most of the conversations. When I travel in Japan, I could barely speak beyond what is taught in the elementary textbook. I know I gotta practise more if I want to improve my proficiency level. However, when I tried to speak to people who know Japanese, I still find it hard to express myself.

I also spent some time reflecting my journey of learning Japanese. When I discussed with my friend who just started learning Japanese, I realised that the teaching method hasn't changed much. This makes me wonder if there is a better way of learning Japanese. Instead of learning from textbooks, Japanese langauge schools should also consider teaching using "live" texts such as newspaper, manga, even instruction manuals, food wrapping, etc. I felt really kuyashii when my friends showed me some food wrapping with Japanese texts and asked what the text meant. Most of the time, I didn't know how to answer.

Just want to hear from all the people who learnt Japanese as a third langauge, how do you improve your proficiency level, beyond the JLPT certificate? Your advice is greatly appreciated.
A former member
Post #: 2
If you've been learning Japanese for 10 years and still need subtitles I suggest you give up being a Japanese wannabe and learn proper English. That may actually come in handy some day when you do decide to move out of your parents' house and get a job.
Darwin Zheng