align-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcamerachatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-crosscrosseditfacebookglobegoogleimagesinstagramlocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartwitteryahoo

Patricia G.

Location:

Olney, MD
Hometown: Olney

Member since:

September 11, 2012

What do I hope to gain from this group?

I purchased a revolver (a Taurus .357 Magnum) shortly after 9/11. The times were very unsettling then and I felt a need for a means of protection. I didn't really get any formal training on how to handle, shoot and take care of the gun -- just some instruction from an acquaintance's husband who was in law enforcement. I'm hoping that I can get formal training on use and care of my handgun with Locked & Loaded Ladies of Maryland, as well as discover local shooting ranges where I can go to practice and find camaraderie among the organization members. I want to learn how to use my handgun mainly for self-protection but I also want to learn how to enjoy the sport of shooting. If I can develop some proficiency in handling my handgun, I am open to learning how to handle and shoot another type of weapon, e.g., a rifle, shot gun or bow and arrow.

What are your hobbies?

I tend to like quiet things like reading, walking, going to the movies. However, I do have one "wild" passion -- I ride a motorcycle. I took the Maryland Rider Safety Course in 1995 when I was 49 and have been riding ever since. My first bike was a 1985 Honda 700cc Magna and I rode it all over southern Maryland. I was a member of the Free State Riders (a Women on Wheels club) and rode with the club to a WOW Rally in Lancaster, PA, the Honda Hoot in Ashville, NC and an Americade Rally at Lake George, NY. In 2000 I purchased a Honda 1100cc Shadow ACE Tourer. I rode it into DC to work on many a Friday "casual dress" day, and rode it out to Springfield, MO for another WOW Rally. I really enjoy getting out on the bike and feeling the air and space around me as I travel down the road. Of course, I always need to be aware of the other "drivers" sharing the road with me, but to minimize this "problem", I look for the less traveled roads to explore.

Do you have any shooting experience and have you ever had a self defense class?

As I mentioned above, I did have some informal training when I first purchased the handgun. But that was a long while back. Also, I have not gone to a shooting range to practice in quite a while.

Introduction

Hi. I'm a retired Federal employee (non-litigator with DOJ/Civil Div). Prior to gov't service I taught high school mathematics for 9 years in MCPS. I graduated from UMd Law School in 1982. I hail from western PA & turned 69 this past August 2015.

What Patricia G. is saying about this Meetup Group

This is my Third Locked & Loaded Ladies of MD event,and each of them has been informative and enjoyable!


Member of 1 other Meetup

Interests

  • This member chose not to make their interests public.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy