addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwchatcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrosseditemptyheartfacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgoogleimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinmagnifying-glassmailminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonplusprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

London Vegan Meetup Message Board › confused....advice please!

confused....advice please!

Jessica
user 81579592
London, GB
Post #: 3
Hi smile

I have a question. It may seem like a stupid question but I'm a newbie vegan and I'm a little bit confused.
So, when in a supermarket, I'm looking at foods and some of the labels say suitable for vegetarians but nothing about vegans. But when I look at the ingredients, it all seems vegan. So does this mean its suitable for us and they have just not included it on the label or does it mean that its not vegan?? I know that some products have animal traces but don't list them and im aware of certain e numbers but its just the things which seem to have vegan ingredients but dont specify on the label. I'm confused about what to trust etc. confused
Jessica Stella F.
user 41450522
London, GB
Post #: 7
Hello Jessica,
It can be confusing indeed; you will find you spend a lot of time scrutinizing ingredients lists!!
When I first started becoming vegan, there were stops & starts; e.g. I once got a flapjack,
I'd glanced at the ingredients, was happy it was vegan then ate it only then I noticed later
another look at the ingredients I'd overlooked the word 'whey'....oh bugger!

So, you're potentially going to have stops & starts like that, before things get clearer!!
Yes, I've eaten things simply labeled Vegetarian, where a proper scrutiny of ingredients,