add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo
Hannah F.
user 13612842
Portland, ME
Post #: 1
Hi Everyone!

I am wondering if any of you have suggestions for good perennial plants to put in a child's garden. I'd like to build one for our son Ashtee (who is 11 mos and not yet walking, but I'm thinking ahead...) and welcome any suggestions that anyone has!

On my list so far are everbearing strawberries, violet, chives, lavender, and sorrel, and I have a couple of annuals (snap peas, carrots, chamomile, and tangerine gem marigolds). I got some chinese artichoke at the plant swap... might that be a fun one? I have no experience with it.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!
Hannah (and Jon and Ashtee)
Greg M.
user 3541854
Acton, ME
Post #: 512
I loved picking strawberries, blueberries and rhubarb from the garden when I was a kid, as well as sheep sorrel and wood sorrel. My kids really loved picking from those same plants as well as from the raspberry and blackberry patches....the plants towered over them and it was almost like walking through a maze for them.