NY Mostly Go Club Message Board › Online Go server accounts

Online Go server accounts

Randy A.
user 11035296
Group Organizer
Bronx, NY
Post #: 1
You can post any online go server accounts you happen to use.

Personally, I haven't played much online in the past year or two, mostly playing on physical boards now. But I used to play hundreds of games a year while I was a student, so it's a great place to find opponents in the wee hours.

On KGS I've got an unranked account that I mostly use for teaching/reviewing: Aginyan
I've also got a blitz-only account that's around 2-3kyu at the moment.

I don't really use IGS much except if a pro game is broadcast.

Feel free to post your own accounts if you happen to have any.
Tawan
Avalon0487
Elmont, NY
for kgs & tygem Avalon0487
Jori H.
Jori.H
New York, NY
Just started on KGS today. It feels like people playing on KGS and IGS have different idea of what each rank is, on IGS it feels like people are really +2k to whatever they have as their rank :/

Username: Readl

Randy A.
user 11035296
Group Organizer
Bronx, NY
Post #: 10
Yes, KGS and IGS ratings do differ slightly. From what I remember hearing, the difference actually changes depending on the level.

From what I remember, IGS 'mid-high dans' (like say, 3d) tended to be a bit stronger than KGS 3d, whereas KGS 15k are slightly stronger than an IGS 15k? This was a few years ago and the exact numbers probably shifted a bit.

Eventually you'll just get 2 solid ranks on the servers and can sorta observe the gap yourself
A former member
Questions from someone who has not yet used a go server, or, maybe any game server.

Wanting to try playing a human at night, and, finally, for the first time in my life, able to enjoy broadband, I read this discussion and then found out something more about online go server accounts on wikipedia, but i don't think anything was said about

1) whether it was free or must be paid for