PDX Web & Design Message Board › Freelancing in Portland

Freelancing in Portland

A former member
Post #: 1
I just moved here from Seattle, where I was doing freelance web design. I've been researching setting up a business in Oregon, but have had little luck in finding specific information about the freelancing case.

I'm running my business as a sole proprietorship. Thus far I have:
- Registered a DBA ("doing business as") with the Oregon Secretary of State
- Registered for a business license with the City of Portland / Multnomah County

Is there anything else I need to do? Does anyone have a good checklist for getting set up as a freelancer in Oregon, or Portland, specifically?

Thanks,
Corey
A former member
Post #: 16
Hi Corey,

I am a freelancer here in Portland too. So, far you have done the right stuff. There isn't really much else to do from a "setting up" standpoint. I have been here almost 3 years and things have gone well so far with doing the same two thing you did. But, I would see an accountant (or do some really good research) about taxes owed to the City of Portland for being self-employeed and working in the city of Portland. My accountant makes sure that is all covered, so I am afraid I can tell you the details...but at least I can tell you to be aware.

Beth
Brian P.
bpanulla
Portland, OR
Post #: 3
The only other item I can suggest is a Federal Tax ID if you don't already have one from Seattle. I filed for one using my Oregon DBA and use that rather than my SSN for tax reporting purposes with my clients. No sense sharing your personal SSN with anyone who doesn't really need to see it.

-B
A former member
Post #: 2
Beth & Brian, thanks for the replies! I'm also now considering switching from sole proprietor to LLC. Any suggestions / recommendations on who to talk to about that?

Thanks,
Corey
Brian P.
bpanulla
Portland, OR
Post #: 4
No suggestions here... had an LLC back in Pennsylvania, but don't know much about that in Oregon.
Minu
minuoh