addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1linklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Philosophy 184 is an academic seminar devoted to philosophy, liberated from the academy itself. We meet weekly, as friends, at a cafe in San Francisco for a few hours to discuss assigned readings, and bravely peer into each others intellect. We also tell jokes. 

read more

We're 1,118 Philosophers

Membership is open to everyone

Content of this Meetup Group is only visible to members

Upcoming Meetups

  • Sunday, April 30, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Why Philosophers Should Care About Computational Complexity", by Scott Aaronson

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, May 7, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Science Without Numbers", by Hartry Field

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, May 14, 2017 1:00 PM

    "On Characterizing the Physical", by Jessica Wilson

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, May 21, 2017 1:00 PM

    "What is Structural Realism?", by James Ladyman

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, May 28, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Are there Irreducibly Relational Facts?", by Josh Parsons

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, June 4, 2017 1:00 PM

    For and Against Method: A Dialogue between Lakatos and Feyerabend

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, June 11, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Empiricism and the Philosophy of Mind", by Wilfrid Sellars

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Empiricism and the Philosophy of Mind" part 2, by Wilfrid Sellars

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, June 25, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Subjective and Objective", by Thomas Nagel

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, July 2, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Making Sense of Relative Truth", by John MacFarlane

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, July 9, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Ideal and Nonideal Theory", by A. John Simmons

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, July 16, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Consent and Political Legitimacy", by Amanda Greene

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, July 23, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Does feminist philosophy rest on a mistake?", by Amia Srinivasan

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, July 30, 2017 1:00 PM

    "Thick and Thin Ethical Concepts", by Michael Smith

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, August 6, 2017 1:00 PM

    "The Guise of the Good", by David Velleman

    12 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, August 13, 2017 1:00 PM

    Weekly Discussion

    8 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, August 20, 2017 1:00 PM

    Weekly Discussion

    9 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017 1:00 PM

    Weekly Discussion

    8 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, September 3, 2017 1:00 PM

    Weekly Discussion

    4 Philosophers attending
  • Sunday, September 10, 2017 1:00 PM

    Weekly Discussion

    4 Philosophers attending
 
Founded Sep 20, 2006

Help support your Meetup

Chip in

Organizers:

Kenny Burgher, Rodrigo Vanegas
Contact
We're about:

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy