Austin Philosophy Discussion Group (APDG) Message Board Philosophy for Real Life Monday night group › What is your inside view of free will?

What is your inside view of free will?

gary
catalunya
Austin, TX
Post #: 1
Here's a slightly re-edited copy of something I posted on the 2/25 session board.
--------------------------------------­------------------------
For me, "free will" is the name I give to the experience of consciously acting or failing to act. There are two parts, "free" and "will".

"Will" describes my *feeling* that I am the agent that caused an event to happen in the world, through conscious action or inaction. If I accidentally contribute to event A happening, I never say, "my actions led to A, so I willed it". Responsibility has no direct bearing on "free will". "Will" is what I call it when I feel like I've been a conscious causal agent.

"Free" has to do with my conscious ability to entertain counterfactuals. I experience a past occurrence of will as a decision to choose among alternatives, but I can imagine having chosen otherwise. I strongly feel that I could have chosen any physically possible alternative. I can reason similarly about the future, and imagine choosing any physically possible alternative.

The proposition "I think, therefore I am" is a lot more compelling (to me, at least) than the proposition "I willed therefore I caused". The fact that it may strongly feel that way does not convince me, because the link between experiencing thought and existing seems very close to definitional (to me), but the link between wanting to cause A by my actions or inactions, and *actually* being the cause of A, seems tenuous.