The Milwaukee Photography Meetup Group Message Board › Adobe Elements, Aperture, or Lightroom editing programs for the beginning di

Adobe Elements, Aperture, or Lightroom editing programs for the beginning digital photographer?

A former member
Post #: 1

Hi people, I have a question I am in dire need of an answer to. I am new to digital photography and, just last week, purchased a new Canon D5 Mark II camera and two fast lenses to go with, (a new Tamron 24-70 f 2.8, and a used Canon 70-200 II f 2.8) along with a Canon 580 EX flash as well. This being said, I just shot my first batch of photos a couple of days ago and edited them on my iMac 24 using an older version of Aperture. I found it to be quite limited in so far as the tools offered to edit your photos were concerned. I have a friend who is a computer techie who knows all about computers, but I am not so sure, when it comes to photography. He told me that Aperture or Lightroom is best for me, for editing my photos, but I also have been told by a couple of other people, that Adobe Elements is the perfect program for beginners who do not want to spend the money for the full Adobe photoshop, too. My techie friend told me that Adobe Elements is a desktop publishing program that is not what I want for editing, even though I may think it is what I want and or need. I want to be able to have a full compliment of tools available so as to be able to effectively address whatever kind of editing issues as may arise in any given photo, and, as I said, with this older version of Aperture I have, I am extremely limited as to the tools offered. Would someone who clearly knows all about these things, please enlighten me as to what editing program or software would be in my best interest in so far as editing my digital photos, be it raw or jpeg would be? Thanks people.
Gary P.
GWPeel
Cudahy, WI