The Resilience Hub & Portland Maine Permaculture Message Board › Anyone done Instant Bed lasagna beds?

Anyone done Instant Bed lasagna beds?

zengeos
zengeos
Gorham, ME
Post #: 2
Send an Email Post a Greeting
I am new to permaculture and have been researching different gardening techniques, that are, werll, quick and relatively easy. I read about a simple lasagna bed type of veggie/flower bed making that goers like this:

1. Plot out where you want to place your lasagna beds, with a space between them similar to the width and length of the actual beds.

2. Place cardboard over the area of the bed

3. Dig the path area down about 6 inches and flip the grass from the paths onto the cardboard, grass down

4. Place compost or manure on top of the flipped over grass and voila!

This makes instant raised beds and, for those, like me, who might find it difficult to acquire the straw, etc for more traditional lasagna beds, it sounds good.

Has anyone tried this technique? If so, would a sod cutter work effectively for this kind of lasagna bed?

I could add a couple layers to it if I could get enough *browns*. That's my problem. I get next to no leaves to use as browns. I may put a sign out at the road asking for people's yard leaves, but am a little worried as to what people might actually leave for me...
David Homa
PostCarbonDesign
Oxford, ME
Post #: 256
Permaculture...working with nature...so patience is important.

As a no digger, I would side against the sod cutter, plus the fossil fuels used...
!Energy Descent!

You could establish regular raised beds for immediate use, and at the same time prepare sheetmulched beds and wait for them to be prepared enough for planting...
last year I sheeted out a large area and this year it will be planted in extensively.
Lisa, any comments?
Sue McCormick
user 3284483
South Portland, ME
Post #: 13