The Resilience Hub & Portland Maine Permaculture Message Board › tips and ideas on planting fruit trees

tips and ideas on planting fruit trees

alder
user 6954726
Sullivan, ME
Post #: 8
so aaron, what would you recommend adding to the planting hole if there is going to be very, very little native soil (since you don't recommend compost)? i plan to add a mix of minerals similar to the fedco planting mix....

good to know about the calcium... i have been saving up eggshells for my tomatoes, wish i had started earlier, then i might have enough to toss in w/ the fruit trees! no sugar maples here, lots of red maple and some red oak.

for the rhubarb, i have no experience planting/growing it but my instinct would be to dig down to the soil, at least to get the root and compost in touch w/the soil. that seems to be the way to go for any planting through sheet mulch. i wouldn't cover it w/ newspaper either, but just mulch it w/ leaves or straw, whatever's handy. what's your reasoning behind covering w/ newspaper?
alder
user 6954726
Sullivan, ME
Post #: 9
ps regarding what else to plant w/ fruit trees.... chives, flowering herbs such as yarrow, alchemilla, hyssop, tansy (tho not if you will eventually turn this to veg garden bc it sure does spread), maybe even some fennel? and i'd definitely do calendula, dill, maybe even some sedums (i've noticed that's a top food source for bees, i don't know which sp i have here).... lots of flowering plants to bring in pollinators. i'm thinking about trying a few celery around moist areas under fruit trees
zengeos
zengeos
Gorham, ME
Post #: 116
The newspaper is a weed barrier, and also a brown layer, I think.

Thanks for the companion suggestions. I am actually growing a number of those...some winter sown and some from seeds...and some I'm using both techniques as a test/comparison. So, I'll plan to place some of the herbs and flowers you mention around the trees, then transition those to the veg rows.
Aaron P.
user 6845673
Falmouth, ME