addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupsimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1outlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruseryahoo

New York City PostgreSQL User Group Message Board › PostgreSQL and MySQL integration/re-development of existing database

PostgreSQL and MySQL integration/re-development of existing database

A former member
Post #: 1
Hi,
I am a total newbie here but am posting to the message boards as we are looking for a database administrator consultant with PostgreSQL and MySQL experience who can take a look at our databases on a consulting basis and execute a re-development of our existing database, which is currently constrained by certain flaws such as overlapping primary and unique identifier keys in tables, missed rows in a past migration, as well as having both MySQL and PostgreSQL operating at the same time, and we would like to execute a clean migration to one or the other. I am agnostic on which, though I am told that having only one is not "best practice" as it would slow down site speed.

Best,
Nasha
Mason S.
mason_s
Group Organizer
Holmdel, NJ
Post #: 6
Hi Nasha,

It would probably make your life easier to just have one database, but I suppose it depends on the applications using them and what they are doing. Of course, we here would be biased to go with a tuned PostgreSQL instance. PostgreSQL helps power websites like Instagram and Yodel. You can also use replication and load balance reads.