Baltimore Puggapalooza Group Message Board › pee pads in the winter

pee pads in the winter

beth
user 3399031
Baltimore, MD
Post #: 13
Hi, all.

I'm new to pug (and dog) ownership! I'm loving it so far. Spud did ok in the snow this week, but I was wondering what people's experience has been with pee pads (I have a hunch he won't go out when it's sleeting--he hates the rain!)? If you start using them, have you had problems getting them to go outside? As far as getting them to use them for the first time, is there anything you need to do other than put them out somewhere? I've heard mixed things about them--I have one friend whose dog pees whenever he sees anything remotely resembling the pee pad on the floor (including when she brings him to other people's houses). After hearing that, I've hesitated starting him on them.

Thanks for any feedback!
beth

P.S. I just ordered a pugsnuggly for Spud after hearing all the rave reviews! I kept buying him things from other places that just don't fit his massive chest!
A former member
Post #: 40
Hi Beth,

I have used pee pads for Mabel since we first got her and now also for Melvin. I have no problem getting them to go outside as well. They seem to use the pads as a backup when they really need to go and we can't get outside soon enough. I have never had them go on anything other than the pads. So my experience has been very positive! Mabel is the same way about the rain (and the snow too!). She will not go outside if the weather is bad or the ground is covered. The last couple of days she's managed to find an area under a tree where the grass is exposed and has gone there.

If you decide to try pads, the ones I use are by Arm & Hammer. They almost have a baby powder smell to them and absorb really well. I always buy them at Target.

Good Luck!!

Betsy
A former member
Post #: 51