add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo
A former member
Post #: 8
How are climbing shoes supposed to fit? I'm new to all this but would like to get my own shoes, and also have them fit properly from the start rather than having to re-learn my technique in the future as I readjust to how my shoes feel. Also, how much do they loosen up as you break them in?
user 3893408
Falls Church, VA
Post #: 4
Some people believe that there are different types of shoes for different types of climbs. Maybe I'm just not hardcore enough, but I'm all about one pair of "all purpose" climbing shoes. I've only been climbing for a couple years, but here's my suggestion:

- Go for a shoe that's very tight/snug, but not hurting as soon as I put it on. However, you shouldn't want to just walk around in them. Personally, I'm usually happy to take them off after climbing and some days they're just uncomfortable (Maybe I suffer from days of fat feet syndrome. I dunno). You should not be able to move your foot around in it.
- Think about your toes and how they feel. Again, no pain, but they should probably curl a little.
- Most shoes (dare I say all?) are going to stretch. How much depends on the shoe. If you've got a good salesperson they might be able to tell you what each is known for. Just keep this in mind, but I wouldn't recommend buying a shoe that hurts in anticipation of it now hurting after it stretches. I don't think your average shoe is going to stretch that much.
- Velcro is nice to get shoes on and off easily, but personally I think laces give you a better fit.