add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

The San Diego Photography Collective Message Board › Waiver/Copyright question

Waiver/Copyright question

A former member
Post #: 7
My apologies if this has already been asked and answered, but I didn't see anything in the archives.

If you agree to do a portrait shoot for someone, do they need to sign a release form for you to keep the rights to the images for website/portfolio?

Thank you for any information.
Jerry V.
San Diego, CA
Post #: 54
The caveat - I am not a lawyer!

You own the copyright unless you sign it over.

I would recommend model releases if you intend to use the images as a part of your business.

Copyright and model releases are two different animals and are not interchangeable. You, for instance, could give your clients the rights to use the photos in a limited way and still own the copyright but, depending on what rights you allow them, they could not sell the pictures. On the other hand, you using their image in a commercial way requires their permission. There are some exceptions to this but the smart thing to do is get the release.

A way to think of it is that copyright is protecting your rights as an artist while model releases are protecting the rights of the clients.

BTW, I think Ken Cohen may be giving a talk on these topics at an upcoming meetup.

San Diego, CA
Post #: 115
if some one has a good copy-right forms i would like to have a copy to keep with me thank you
copyrigh will always help because when you do post it you are better covered YES
A former member
Post #: 54