Kim R.
user 9321840
San Diego, CA
Post #: 1
Hi everyone!

I would like to take some photos of buildings with graffiti or just old gritty buildings (without restrictions on access) for my photography class. I was wondering if anyone can suggest a couple of places?

Thanks a bunch! I'm new to San Diego and don't know many places. Wish I can fly back home to New York and shoot some photos but don't have any money since I'm a starving student.

~kim
A former member
Post #: 23
Go to downtown
Ask homeless where they sleep
??????
PROFIT!

If you are looking for gritty that is, don't know what else you are trying for?

........And are you even interested in coming out to some outings? We'd love to have more explorers! smile
Dan C.
DanchusiD
Group Organizer
San Diego, CA
Post #: 2,146
Not adviseable to "go downtown and ask homeless where they sleep". You
might just be asking for trouble, especially on your own.

Better to ask on the message boards of the San Diego Photography Meetup Group
http://www.photo.meet...­ where some of the members might have seen
and photographed a few building fitting your description.

Unlike big cities like New York and Los Angeles, San Diego tends to fence off or demolish
these structures rather than leave them to be explored by people like us. There ARE
graffittied and abandoned structures locally, but it takes a little legwork to find
out where they are.

There are bridge underpasses, tunnels, storm drains, etc. that are chock full of graffitti
for photographing, some with some pretty good artwork.
Ask (not me though because I'm not up on the locations at present) and you will
probably find.
Charles
user 5527101
El Cajon, CA
Post #: 239
I took a Drive down the Historic Hwy 80 yesterday. Travel from the Sunrise Hwy Exit south side al the way down to the Desert View Tower. These photos were from Buckman Springs Old House and Bottling Plant. There are Also some other Foundations and morteros in the area seem to be no problem accessing the site