Bay Area Scuba Lovers Message Board Suggestions Forum › More diverse Beginner dive sites

More diverse Beginner dive sites

A former member
Post #: 8
Hello,
I joined this group a few months ago, but havn't really seen any dives for beginner/novices that aren't located in Monterey Breakwater. I'd love to explore other beginner sites. For those of us who have a few dives under our belt, but aren't quite at the intermediate stage yet, this would be a great way to learn about more sites and get more comfortable. I'm also relatively new to California (moved here Nov of last year), so I'm not to familiar with any dive sites outside of the breakwater.

Thanks!
Audiva
rachel the w.
Santa Clara, CA
Post #: 77
Hi Audiva,

Breakwater is really the best beach for novice and reentry divers. I don't know of any others that are so well suited to getting familiar with your gear in a safe environment. i think that you will find that as you become familiar with your gear the wall dive and the pipelines are actually very diverse and colorful dives!

Rachel the wombat
Herb
herbleong
San Francisco, CA
Post #: 5
The other two sites I can think of for a reentry dive are not as good:

Unless you can find street parking or get the El Toro to let you park at their lot, there is a bit of a hike from the nearest pay parking lot going to McAbee. With two tanks, suit, bc, weight, and other stuff. No unloading allowed at the trailhead leading to the beach. No thanks!

Del Monte is seriously boring unless you can find the wrecks which are around 400 yards out. Flat, shallow, and lots of sand. I have been told that you can hunt halibut there as it's outside of the spear fishing exclusion zones.
Ben
user 8266134
Santa Clara, CA
Post #: 24
Hi Audiva,